The Greatest Intimacy with God by Valerie Cheers Brown

Have you ever yearned for more closeness of intimacy with God?

We would not be human if we did not and it is human nature to long to experience the closeness of an intimate relationship wiht God.

But is it possible for true intimacy with God?

Intimacy with God is not a feeling like we would vision from a romantic relationship, but does stem much deeper than a feeling, but this great feeling down to our very souls and also our inner feelings which will shine from our outer actions.

Also, I have learned that God will never draw to those of us who do not want His nearness and the way for this happening is “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners, and purify our hearts, you double-minded (James 4:8) as stated. Hope is what you will have and that hope, because Christ is the hope through which we draw near to God. 2 Corinthians 5:21  says, “Have the hope of intimacy with God. In fact, it is only those who have been saved by grace through faith (Ephesians 2:8-9) who have that hope, because Christ is the hope through which we draw near to God (Hebrews 7:19).

In the beautiful book of Psalm it reminds us “A Psalm of David, when he was in the wilderness of Judah. O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water. So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary, beholding your power and glory. Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you. So I will bless you as long as I live; in your name I will lift up my hands. My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food, and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips, …” Psalm 63:1-11 ESV

Jesus loves us and died for our sins, the least we can do is to stay close to Him.

Often I sit in quiet and cry and then I say, “Oh, what am crying for when God so loved me enough that He gave His only begotten Son?”

Often I sit and stare outdoors with such inner peace at all of the beauty which is just waiting for us to enjoy!

This then takes me to the book of James 4:8 where it says, “Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.”

Then I go even further to Jeremiah 29:11 where it states, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

So, why I say to myself am I moping around when there is such beauty in life right now and such wonderful inner peace I hold because of God?

Thinking we are close to God and doing is two different things and is quite insufficient.

He will do just like he states in the book of Hebrew 13:5?  “ Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for He hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.

As sitting here in complete and total silence and listening to the beautiful squirrels and birds communicating amongst each other gives me such hope that there is a God and that He is a good God who truly keeps his word.

Sometimes, something really has to hit the fan before we realize that God is amazing and He is there always for us, but we must believe and have faith in Him and we must wait on Him.

In other words, we must let go and let God lead us and we we must enjoy and be grateful for what we have at the present where we are right now, at this moment as if it were our last.

We must truly let go and not try nor worry that He will forget us, for He does not forget His children, but we must have faith that He is who He says He is and believe and stay in His word.

God made you. Not just that, he adores you so much that he needs you to know him now and go through time everlasting with him. Jesus said, “For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten Son so that everybody who puts trust in him will not perish,however have eternal life.”

Jesus came so that each of us could know and comprehend God personally. Jesus alone can breath life into significance and reason and this I humbly say thank You.

What keeps us from God?

All of us sin and our sins certainly seperate us from God.

We sense that division, that separation from God as a result of our transgression. The Bible lets us know that “Every one of us like sheep have gone off to some far away place; each of us has swung to his own particular way.”

Where it counts, our disposition may be one of dynamic disobedience or inactive lack of interest toward God and his ways, yet it’s all proof of what the Bible calls sin.

The consequence of sin in our lives is passing, spiritual division from God and although we may attempt to draw near to God through our own particular exertion, we definitely come up short.

We deserve to pay for our own sin. The problem with that is that we would have to die seperated from God and this is out of His love for us, instead Jesus Christ died for our sins and He paid for it. “For Christ also died for sins or the just for the unjust, so that He may bring us to God.

God saved us not because of righteous things we had done, but because of His great mercy. So, because of Jesus death on the cross, our sin does not have to seperate us from God any longer.

Saying that….. rather than investing more energy to achieve God, he lets us know how we can start an association with him at this moment. Jesus says, “Come to me.” “If anybody thirsts, let him come to me and drink. Whoever has confidence in me… out of his heart will stream waterways of living water.” It was Jesus’ affection for us that made him persevere through the cross. What’s more, he now welcomes us to come to him, that we may start an individual association with God.

We can pray: “Jesus, I want to know you. I want you to come into my life. Thank you for dying on the cross for my sin so that I could be fully accepted by you. Only you can give me the power to change and become the person you created me to be. Thank you for forgiving me and giving me eternal life with God. I give my life to you. Please do with it as you wish. Amen.”

If you sincerely asked Jesus into your life just now, then he has come into your life as he promised. You have begun a personal relationship with God.

If we hope to attain true intimacy with God, Jesus must be our model. We love God because He first loved us (1 John 4:10), and we prove our love for Him by obeying Him. Jesus told His followers, “If you love me, keep my commandments” (John 14:15). When we obey Him and keep what He has commanded, He promised that we will remain in His love, just as He remains in the love of the Father by doing the Father’s will (John 15:10). There can only be intimacy with God when we are in good fellowship with Him through obedience. Then we can know the joy and peace that comes from trusting Him and yielding to His will, just as Jesus did.

Simply realizing what Jesus has accomplished for us and what he is putting forth us is insufficient. To have an association with God, we have to welcome him into our life…

So in closing, what follows is a lifelong journey of change and growth as you get to know God better through Bible reading, prayer and interaction with other Christians.

Leave a Reply

